About the Department

plumeria flowersThe Planning Department provides technical advice to the Mayor, Planning Commission, and County Council on all planning and land use matters. The Department is also charged with the administration of the Subdivision and Zoning Codes.

Note that the Planning Department has offices in Hilo and Kona.
The Hilo office handles Planning Department activities Island-wide, while the Kona office handles these same activities primarily for North and South Kohala, North and South Kona, and Ka`ū. Simply contact the Planning Department Office nearest you.

Contact information for both offices

The major Divisions of the Department are:

  • Administrative Services

  • Administrative Permits

  • Long-Range Planning

  • Planning